Siri Hustvedt

The Princess of Asturias Award
May 2019

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

The Princess of Asturias Award

MADRID — American writer Siri Hustvedt, author of international bestsellers including "What I Loved" and "The Summer Without Men," has won this year's Princess of Asturias award for literature. The award is one of eight annual prizes, named after Crown Princess Leonor, handed out to honour people in fields including sports, sciences and arts.

The Spanish award's jury said that Hustvedt's "ambitious" work "delves into aspects that depict a convulsed and disconcerting present from a feminist perspective."